I wrote:
I usually use LibreOffice on Fedora Linux. The current version I have
installed is 26.2. Today I tried to use it on Windows with version 28.6.
I could not find a way to change all the icons for the various tools to
simple text. Although this has been tedious on Linux, it has at least
been possible. (I haven't used picture books since I was about five
years old. I learned to read.)
Online helps says I can do this on the Windows version with "go to Menu
Tools > Options > LibreOffice > View, and then select the option to
display text labels for icons." This would be wonderful if it worked
since doing so in the past required making individual changes for each
toolbar. But that option does not seem to appear.
Am I missing something? Or has LibreOffice eliminated this useful
feature?
Paolo Debortoli answered:
You\u2019re not missing it. In current LibreOffice, the global **\u201cText,
Text and Icons, or Icons\u201d** choice is no longer presented under
**Tools -> Options -> LibreOffice -> View**. That advice refers to
an older interface/version.
The feature still exists, but it is applied **per toolbar**:
1. Make sure the relevant toolbar is visible: **View -> Toolbars**.
2. Right-click an empty area of that toolbar\u2014or click its small
toolbar drop-down/menu button.
3. Choose **Visible Buttons** if you need to add or remove commands.
4. Open **Customize Toolbar...** or **Toolbar Settings...**, depending
on the exact build and UI.
5. In the toolbar customization dialog, select **Text only** in
the control that normally offers **Icons only**, **Text only**,
or **Icons and Text**.
6. Repeat this for each toolbar.
LibreOffice\u2019s documentation for the 26.2 branch confirms that
toolbar buttons can be set to **Icon only, Text only, or Icon and
text**, but says this selection is made from the toolbar customization
interface\u2014not from the general **View** options.
So the short answer is: **the text-label capability remains, but
the convenient global setting appears to have been removed or the
online instructions are outdated. On Windows 28.6, use per-toolbar
customization or switch to the Standard Toolbar interface first.**
Thank you, Paolo. What you describe is the way the Linux version has
worked since I first used it years ago. The global change would be a
wonderful addition and I've requested it several time. I'm unhappy to
learn that Windows once worked that better way but now mirrors the
tedious method required in Linux.
--
Dave Close, Compata, Irvine CA "You can't go to Windows Update
dave@compata.com, +1 714 434 7359 and get a patch for stupidity."
dhclose@alumni.caltech.edu -- Kevin Mitnick
--
To unsubscribe e-mail to: users+unsubscribe@global.libreoffice.org
Problems? https://www.libreoffice.org/get-help/mailing-lists/how-to-unsubscribe/
Posting guidelines + more: https://wiki.documentfoundation.org/Netiquette
List archive: https://listarchives.libreoffice.org/global/users/
Privacy Policy: https://www.documentfoundation.org/privacy
Context
Privacy Policy |
Impressum (Legal Info) |
Copyright information: Unless otherwise specified, all text and images
on this website are licensed under the
Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 License.
This does not include the source code of LibreOffice, which is
licensed under the Mozilla Public License (
MPLv2).
"LibreOffice" and "The Document Foundation" are
registered trademarks of their corresponding registered owners or are
in actual use as trademarks in one or more countries. Their respective
logos and icons are also subject to international copyright laws. Use
thereof is explained in our
trademark policy.