Date: prev next · Thread: first prev next last
2014 Archives by date, by thread · List index

At 06:17 07/03/2014 +0100, John Herron wrote:
This concerns LO Build ID: 350m1(Build:2) on Linux Mint 13 (Maya) LTS.
In Writer, clicking on the down / up buttons below the vertical scroll bar will - properly - move the focus to the top of the following / previous page.

Not necessarily. These buttons move backwards and forwards, but the interval is set in Navigation (not the Navigator), which can be opened with the button between those two double-arrow buttons. "Page" is just one of the possible settings there. And these buttons change the display but do not, I think, move the cursor.

However, I would much prefer to do that via a keyboard shortcut. In the "Navigate" category of Writer's "Tools/Customize" menu there are two functions that should potentially achieve this: "Previous Page" and "Next Page".

They should be set by default to the PageUp and PageDown keys, I think.

In the Shortcut Keys frame I've assigned Alt+PgDn (=Next(!) in the frame) to Next Page resp. Alt+PgUp (=Prior(!)) to Previous Page, but the result is not the same as with the mouse click: it is more like an ordinary scrolling motion.

Yes, they differ in two ways from the buttons: they scroll by a screenful (not necessarily a page of the document) and they *do* move the cursor.

Writer does not react at all to a simple PgUp or PgDn keypress.

Does your operating system or some other software intervene in these keystrokes?

Is there another way that I might achieve via the keyboard the same effect as with the navigation button clicks?

In Tools | Customize... | Keyboard | Category | Navigate, try "To Begin of Previous Page" and "To Begin of Next Page" (or "To End ..." if preferred). These do something different again: they move by page, not screenful, but do move the cursor!

I trust this helps.

Brian Barker

To unsubscribe e-mail to:
Posting guidelines + more:
List archive:
All messages sent to this list will be publicly archived and cannot be deleted


Privacy Policy | Impressum (Legal Info) | Copyright information: Unless otherwise specified, all text and images on this website are licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 License. This does not include the source code of LibreOffice, which is licensed under the Mozilla Public License (MPLv2). "LibreOffice" and "The Document Foundation" are registered trademarks of their corresponding registered owners or are in actual use as trademarks in one or more countries. Their respective logos and icons are also subject to international copyright laws. Use thereof is explained in our trademark policy.