Date: prev next · Thread: first prev next last
2013 Archives by date, by thread · List index

Hi Tom

I spent quite a bit of time on the official IT Web site and could find no reference to the article you mention. I would consider this as spam. Not use which email app you use but if it's Thunderbird, you can hover you mouse over any links supplied in the email to see where they actually return to, look at the bottom left of Thunderbird. If it does not show I would then become very suspicious.

Also you can expand the headers to see further where this mail originated, and where it "phones home" i.e. return to server/s by going to your compact header (divider between mail pane and message pane), click on far right hand gear cog icon "Other actions - headers - all" and scroll down in this more revealing bar to see what is hidden by default.

Remember to return your headers to "normal" otherwise every subsequent email will be sent out with all headers exposed in the email, generally loking like garbage.


Andrew Brown

On 30/07/2013 10:39 AM, Tom Davies wrote:
Hi :)
I have just had an email that looks like spam.  It's allegedly a survey being done by IT World.  
So, if it is not spam then it is going to be used in some article to say things like 99% of people 
prefer something bloated and old and only 1% like something shiny and new.  I thought we did a good 
job with the About.Com survey.  We had just enough people to make it clear that LibreOffice does 
have a bigger fan-base than other competitors without going completely overboard with it.

So, any suggestions on finding out if this survey is legit or spam would be great
Regards from

Tom :)

To unsubscribe e-mail to:
Posting guidelines + more:
List archive:
All messages sent to this list will be publicly archived and cannot be deleted


Privacy Policy | Impressum (Legal Info) | Copyright information: Unless otherwise specified, all text and images on this website are licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 License. This does not include the source code of LibreOffice, which is licensed under the Mozilla Public License (MPLv2). "LibreOffice" and "The Document Foundation" are registered trademarks of their corresponding registered owners or are in actual use as trademarks in one or more countries. Their respective logos and icons are also subject to international copyright laws. Use thereof is explained in our trademark policy.