[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

Re: [libreoffice-marketing] Do you know who is trying to "take" my LibreOffice-NA domain?

do not fall for that.

They are putting pressure on you to compel you to renew with them at
exorbitant prices. This is a well-known and old scam, and you can google it.

I have for all of my registered domain names over the past 20 years
received those same emails, and I never budged. No one ever registered
the web sites as threatened.

LibreOffice is a TM, and you hold libreoffice-NA.US. If in fact they
register, Chinese IP rights have gotten a lot better.

Again, do not fall for it.

On 7/28/2017 08:21, Tim-L--Elmira-NY wrote:
> On 07/28/2017 11:08 AM, Daniel A. Rodriguez wrote:
>>> I have been receiving emails from one of the Chinese domain registries.
>> Some company is trying to register LibreOffice-na.cn and most of the
>> LibreOffice-na.com.cn - where "COM" is changes to ORG, NET, and others.
>>> I have been told by the registry that this Chinese company is avid that
>> they want to have all of the possible LibreOffice-NA domains and want
>> that
>> registry to force me to give up my LibreOffice-NA.US domain since it is
>> their "company keyword" or trademark. Since I have had my domain for
>> several years, and this Chinese company is just starting up - so I
>> believe
>> from the emails - so I have the "keyword" and "fair-use trademark".
>>> SO, have anyone in this list know of any Chinese LibreOffice "company"
>> wanting to use LibreOffice-NA as part of their domain?
>>> I use it myself and it is a shortened name meaning the following:
>>> LibreOffice-NA.US
>>> LibreOffice - North America - in the USA.
>>> I really like to know what is going on with the info I am getting from
>> China stating that someone is trying to register my domain name and
>> wanting
>> me to give it up.
>>> Currently, I am not doing much with that domain, but hope to have some
>> add-ons for LibreOffice - like my specialized color palettes. I do have
>> some palettes created, but they are not quite ready for full publishing.
>> Also I need to remember where Win10 and Linux RPM "hides" the color
>> palettes. I know where Linux DEB "hides" these files.
>>> Tim L.
>> If your registration is not about to expire you have norhing to worry
>> about. If so, renew ASAP.
>> My two cents.
>> Best
> I have all of my domains set to auto renew, just in case I forget to
> renew after I get a renewal notice.
> It seems that the Chinese registry feels I may have troubles.
> I just want to fine out what is going on. It seems to be a Chinese
> company wanting to deal with LibreOffice in some way. So I thought
> someone here might know something about this Chinese company.


Axel K. Kloth
Founder, Chairman of the Board and CTO
Scalable Systems Research Labs Inc.
458 San Mateo Avenue
San Bruno, CA 94066
Office: (650) 322-6507
Cell: (650) 283-3554
Skype: axelkloth
Web: http://www.ssrlabs.com


To unsubscribe e-mail to: marketing+unsubscribe@global.libreoffice.org
Problems? http://www.libreoffice.org/get-help/mailing-lists/how-to-unsubscribe/
Posting guidelines + more: http://wiki.documentfoundation.org/Netiquette
List archive: http://listarchives.libreoffice.org/global/marketing/
All messages sent to this list will be publicly archived and cannot be deleted

Privacy Policy | Impressum (Legal Info) | Copyright information: Unless otherwise specified, all text and images on this website are licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 License. This does not include the source code of LibreOffice, which is licensed under the Mozilla Public License (MPLv2). "LibreOffice" and "The Document Foundation" are registered trademarks of their corresponding registered owners or are in actual use as trademarks in one or more countries. Their respective logos and icons are also subject to international copyright laws. Use thereof is explained in our trademark policy.