Date: prev next · Thread: first prev next last
2011 Archives by date, by thread · List index


I've just finished early implementation Ron's workflow and roughly tested.
Here's the procedure of the workflow in Alfresco (sorry for my English
-_-!):

Spaces: Drafts, Review, Proofing, Proofing2, Published

Only Alfresco users in the "Documenters" group are involved in this
workflow. Other users have read-only access to the spaces.

Step 1.

   1. A user go to the Drafts space, click "Add Content", choose file to
   upload, fill-in the document "Name", and in the "Type" field choose
   "Content".
   2. Someone checks out the file from the Drafts folder to begin editing.
      - To check-out a file, click on the "More Action" (triangle inside a
      circle button) and choose "Check Out".
      - Then choose the space for the working copy which should be in the
      user's home space.
   3. The checked-out files stays in the Drafts folder and is marked that it
   is checked-out by the "locked" icon. Hover at the icon to show which user is
   working on it.
      - Other users are prevented from editing the file while it is checked
      out.

Step 2.

   1. The user downloads the working copy, makes changes and then uploads
   the file to replace the working copy with new versions.
   2. When finish, click the "Check In" button of the working copy. The
   working copy will be removed and the original file will be editable again.
   3. The user is then offered the option to either
      - leave the file in the Drafts folder if the file needs further
      editing
      - or if editing is complete, move the file to the next step in the
      process, the Review space, by clicking at the "More Action" button and
      choose "Submit to Review"

Step 3.

   1. Another user goes to the Review folder and checks out the file,
   downloads it and reviews it.
   2. If the file was revised,
      - the user check-in the changes
      - then choose "Reject to Drafts" to move the file to Drafts space.
   3.  If it was ok and ready to proceed to proofing
      - the user check-in the changes
      - then choose "Submit to Proofing" to move the file to Proofing space.

Step 4.

   1. A user goes to the Proofing space, downloads the file and proofs it.
   2. If the file needs more work, it is moved back to the Drafts space by
   choosing "Reject to Drafts".
   3. If the file is OK, it is moved to the Proofing2 by choosing "Submit to
   Proofing2". This is to mark that the file have been proofed once.
   4. Then a second user goes to the Proofing2 space, proofs the file.
   5. if the user agree it is ready to be published, s/he choose "Submit to
   Published" which move the file to Published space. That means the file has
   been proofed by two users


On Tue, Jan 11, 2011 at 1:17 PM, Ron Faile <rmfaile@bellsouth.net> wrote:

On 1/10/2011 3:18 AM, Samphan Raruenrom wrote:

I can setup the review/approve workflow for the spaces. Someone need to
decide the number of steps in the workflow and name each space/folder. I
also suggest configuring auto-versioning for all spaces so everyone can
get
back older revisions.

 Samphan,

Here is the workflow that I've come up with. It's basically what we are
doing now on the wiki.

Folders: Drafts, Review, Proofing, Published

Step 1.

A user uploads a new file to the Drafts folder. Someone checks out the file
from the Drafts folder to begin editing. The file stays in the Drafts folder
and is marked that it is checked out and to show which user is working on
it. If possible, prevent other users from editing the file while it is
checked out.

Step 2.

The user downloads the file, makes changes and then uploads the file to
Alfresco and checks the file back in. The user is then offered the option to
either leave the file in the Drafts folder if the file needs further editing
or if editing is complete, move the file to the next step in the process,
the Review folder.

Step 3.

Another user goes to the Review folder and checks out the file, downloads
it and reviews it. If the file was revised, it would be moved back to the
Drafts folder and the document is checked back in. If it was ok and ready to
proceed to proofing, the file is moved to the Proofing folder and the file
is checked in.

Step 4.

A user goes to the Proofing folder, downloads the file and proofs it. If
the file needs more work, it is moved back to the Drafts folder. If they
agree it is ready for publishing, they go to the Proofing folder and mark
that the file is ok. The file is marked as having been proofed once. Then a
second user proofs the file and if they agree it is ready to be published,
they mark that they have proofed the file and it is ok. Once the file has
been proofed by two users, then it will be moved to the Published folder.

I agree about turning on auto-versioning. Let me know if you need anything
else. Thanks.

Ron


--
Unsubscribe instructions: E-mail to 
documentation+help@libreoffice.org<documentation%2Bhelp@libreoffice.org>
List archive: http://listarchives.libreoffice.org/www/documentation/
*** All posts to this list are publicly archived for eternity ***




-- 
_/|\_ Samphan Raruenrom. Open Source Development Co., Ltd.
Tel: +66 38 311816, Fax: +66 38 773128, http://www.osdev.co.th/

-- 
Unsubscribe instructions: E-mail to documentation+help@libreoffice.org
List archive: http://listarchives.libreoffice.org/www/documentation/
*** All posts to this list are publicly archived for eternity ***

Context


Privacy Policy | Impressum (Legal Info) | Copyright information: Unless otherwise specified, all text and images on this website are licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 License. This does not include the source code of LibreOffice, which is licensed under the Mozilla Public License (MPLv2). "LibreOffice" and "The Document Foundation" are registered trademarks of their corresponding registered owners or are in actual use as trademarks in one or more countries. Their respective logos and icons are also subject to international copyright laws. Use thereof is explained in our trademark policy.